San Diego DUI Defense Attorney
A person who has just been arrested for their first offense of DUI may be scared and unsure of how to appropriately handle the situation. What many people do not know is that a person facing drunk driving charges in California will be facing two separate offenses, one of which is classified under Vehicle Code 23152(a) VC.
This statute outlines what it means to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs and the legal limit in the state – .08 percent. As a result, you are strongly advised to speak with a criminal attorney as soon as possible if you have been charged with your first offense of DUI.
There are many consequences associated with this type of offense, and Attorney Marc S. Kohnen wants to protect you from facing these unnecessary and harsh penalties.
Penalties for First DUI in California
If a person fails to talk to a DUI defense lawyer right away, he or she is at immediate risk to facing criminal consequences. Once the arrest has taken place, the California DMV will be notified and a license suspension will be pending following the tenth day after the arrest. Should you fail to hire a San Diego defense attorney for the DUI and schedule a DMV hearing, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended regardless of the outcome of your criminal case. Once the criminal case has begun, there are many other penalties that may follow if an attorney is not approached. Some of these penalties include the following:
- Informal probation for up to five years;
- Maximum of six months in jail;
- Up to $1,000 in fines (not counting court fees);
- AB541 Class or another approved alcohol awareness course; and
- Driver’s license suspension.
If you have been arrested for the first offense of DUI, this is a very serious charge that you will want to contest at your soonest availability. This law firm provides confidential case evaluations so that you can further discuss the issues associated with your case. Contact a San Diego DUI lawyer today to discuss your defense options!